Google has come up with a way to merge users' Google Plus accounts, so that all circles and circle information can now be in just one account. The Web giant announced today the launch of the "Google+ circles transfer tool" via Google Takeout.
The tool works by moving users' Google+ circles and connections from what it calls a "source" account to a "destination" account. Once users' accounts are merged with this tool, people in their circles will only see the "destination" profiles.
This is most likely welcome news to those users that have more than one account associated with different email addresses or Google Apps accounts. The tool unites all circle names, members, and settings, along with the people and pages users have blocked or ignored.
Here's what Google+ product manager Ronald Ho wrote in a blog post:
A while back we announced plans for a tool that would help you transfer your circles from one Google+ account to another and ensure that your followers are automatically directed to your new, preferred profile. Today, anyone can visit Google Takeout and click "Transfer your Google+ connections to another account."
One element that complicates the merge is that it only works for circles, blocks, and ignores. Unfortunately, all content, photos, comments, and profile information is not transferred to the destination account.