A new e-mail that is circulating looks like it comes from CNN and links to a fake CNN Web page offering "graphic" video related to the Israel-Hamas conflict but instead hosts a Trojan that steals sensitive data, RSA said on Thursday.
When someone clicks on the video link on the fake CNN site an error message pops up urging the visitor to download the latest version of Adobe Flash Player. Clicking on the download link installs an "SSL stealer" Trojan that captures financial and other sensitive information, RSA said in a blog.
The Trojan looks for encrypted communications between the computer and known financial institutions and when it sees data being sent it diverts it to a malicious third-party, said Sam Curry, vice president of product management and strategy at RSA.
The social-engineering attack is different in that the e-mail pretends to come from a media company and then tries to steal financial data, he said. "Normally when you get phished they send you an e-mail pretending to be from a bank or other financial institution," he said.
RSA discovered the attack early on Wednesday and has worked with others to get the fake site shut down. At a peak on Thursday as many as 80,000 of the phishing e-mails were being sent out, according to Curry.
This screen shot shows the error message that pops up on the fake CNN Web site. Instead of a legitimate download of Adobe Player a Trojan that steals sensitive data is installed.
(Credit: RSA)A flood of e-mails pretending to be from MSNBC contain links to malicious software, security companies warned Wednesday.
According to an MX Lab blog post, subject lines always start with "msnbc.com - BREAKING NEWS" then are followed with a variety of possible headlines, including: "Google launches free music downloads in China"; "Plane crashes into prep school, hundreds of kids killed"; "Please give your opinions for change"; and "US Dollar hits 6-year high, further gains expected."
The Web address http://breakingnews.msnbc.com is valid if you type it into your browser; however, clicking the link within the body of the e-mail will take you to another site entirely. The bogus site will then ask you to download a Flash video file. It is the file adobe_flash.exe that contains a malicious Trojan horse.
Sophos and Websense also issued warnings about the e-mails. Earlier this month, Sophos warned that fake CNN Top Ten e-mails contained a similar Trojan horse. In 2006, the BBC was used in a similar attack.
Disclosure: CNET News is published by CBS Interactive, a unit of CBS.
- prev
- 1
- next





