Version: 2008
  • On CBS.com: Victoria Secret Model Contest -Vote Now!

Comments on: Chat hands-free with Motorola H350 Bluetooth headset, $4.99 (after rebate)

Office Depot has a basic Bluetooth headset on sale for $4.99 after a $35 mail-in rebate. You still have to pay shipping (and/or sales tax), though.

Add a Comment (Log in or register) (4 Comments)
  • prev
  • 1
  • next
by Ray180 March 14, 2008 7:16 AM PDT
I bought this model a few months ago from Buy.com for $15 (no rebate but refurbished). It's my first BT headset so I don't have anything else to compare it to but I still find myself using my older wired headsets more often than this one. It's easy enough operate and pair to a device and it holds a charge well but callers tell me it picks up a lot of extra noise, especially in the car which is where it would be most handy. I also think the fit is too loose, allowing the unit to swing away from the face with the slightest head movement.
Reply to this comment
by jamestracy March 15, 2008 7:53 AM PDT
I called and spoke with an Office Depot representative to inquire about the rebate offer for the Motorola H350 Bluetooth Headset. I was told that there is no rebate available for that particular item. If you go to http://www.officedepot.com/ and scroll to the bottom of the page and click the link, Mail-In Saving under Specials and then type the product # in the box Product SKU, you will see that Office Depot is not offering any kind of rebate. The web address were the rebate form is located is called http://forms.young-america.com/80677_OD1902033-030508.pdf and cannot be directly accessed (at least I was unable to in any form). Reading PDF rebate form, it list the web address http://web-rebates.com/officedepot but when that site is typed into the address bar this message comes up.

There is a problem with this web site's security certificate.


The security certificate presented by this website was issued for a different web site's address.

Security certificate problems may indicate an attempt to fool you or intercept any data you send to the server.
We recommend that you close this web page and do not continue to this website.
Click here to close this web page.
Continue to this website (not recommended).
More information


If you arrived at this page by clicking a link, check the website address in the address bar to be sure that it is the address you were expecting.
When going to a website with an address such as https://example.com, try adding the 'www' to the address, https://www.example.com.
If you choose to ignore this error and continue, do not enter private information into the website.

For more information, see "Certificate Errors" in Internet Explorer Help.

I highly recommend that no one purchase this and attempt to mail in this rebate form, it appears to be a scam of some sort. I would also recommend that this post be deleted from http://www.cnet.com/8301-13845_1-9893580-58.html?tag=head immediately.

James Tracy
Reply to this comment
by rickbroida March 16, 2008 4:34 PM PDT
I agree that this appears fishy, and I appreciate your diligence in trying to warn your fellow readers. However, a quick search for Motorola products in the "Mail-in Savings" page (as you described above) does indeed reveal this headset, and the link to the PDF is the same. So I officially give this my Unofficial Cheapskate Seal of Approval.
by SpitfireAu March 18, 2008 3:11 AM PDT
James,

It would've been worth your while to investigate a little before declaring this a scam. If you check the security certificate it is a valid VeriSign certificate, but it's issued to http://www.web-rebates.com rather than http://web-rebates.com (which is how the link is written in the form), which is one and the same in terms of the actual website - simply adding the "www." to the address will eliminate the certificate error entirely. This scenario is in fact mentioned in that error message you described.

Despite the fact that the rebate has expired it was still an issue that needed clarification: sometimes a little digging around to fully ascertain it's authentic.

Mike
Reply to this comment
(4 Comments)
  • prev
  • 1
  • next

S.F. hacker space: Heaven for the DIY set?

The Noisebridge hacker space offers sewing and Mandarin classes, soldering workshops, Internet-controlled front door access, and a server room with no door.
• Photos: Circuits, code, community

The browser battles go on and on

roundup From Firefox to IE and from Chrome to Opera and Safari, there's no sitting still for browser makers looking to keep their products fresh and competitive.

advertisement

About The Cheapskate

The best things in tech are cheap. "The Cheapskate" scours the Web for great deals on PCs, phones, gadgets, and all the other tech stuff that makes life worth living. Send your own cheapskate tips to thecheapskate@gmail.com. Rick is a member of the CNET Blog Network and is not an employee of CNET. Disclosure. Deals found on The Cheapskate are subject to availability, expiration, and other terms determined by sellers.

Add this feed to your online news reader

The Cheapskate topics

advertisement
advertisement