Version: 2008
  • On last.fm: Exclusive interview with Phoenix

Comments on: Apple wins iTunes cybersquatting battle

Registrar sides with Apple in domain dispute, forcing U.K. company to hand over iTunes.co.uk Web address.

Add a Comment (Log in or register) (36 Comments)
  • prev
  • 1
  • next
Checked the link, its cybersquatting
by Thomas, David March 15, 2005 2:50 PM PST
Simply a redirect to their shop. An obvious ploy, if not after the
fact. The trademark exists and they should have taken the
money.
Reply to this comment
Should Have Taken The Money
by March 15, 2005 3:52 PM PST
Yeah... Why do they want the name so bad anyway? It has nothing to do with them. It is obviously trademarked.

I agree... they should have taken the money.

http://allwaysmusic.modblog.com/

---
not quite right
by catchall March 15, 2005 5:27 PM PST
It was registered before Apple's trademark was published. So no, the trademark did not exist.
However, it was( or at least became ) an 'obvious ploy', so they should have taken anything offered and simply walked away.
interesting
by newsfan April 30, 2007 3:31 PM PDT
definitely an interesting article
Checked the link, its cybersquatting
by Thomas, David March 15, 2005 2:50 PM PST
Simply a redirect to their shop. An obvious ploy, if not after the
fact. The trademark exists and they should have taken the
money.
Reply to this comment
Should Have Taken The Money
by March 15, 2005 3:52 PM PST
Yeah... Why do they want the name so bad anyway? It has nothing to do with them. It is obviously trademarked.

I agree... they should have taken the money.

http://allwaysmusic.modblog.com/

---
not quite right
by catchall March 15, 2005 5:27 PM PST
It was registered before Apple's trademark was published. So no, the trademark did not exist.
However, it was( or at least became ) an 'obvious ploy', so they should have taken anything offered and simply walked away.
interesting
by newsfan April 30, 2007 3:31 PM PDT
definitely an interesting article
Registered before Apple's trademark was published...
by unknown unknown March 15, 2005 4:36 PM PST
When the site was registered Apple didn't have any legal claim to it. This is setting a bad precident in my opinion. One can register a domain name, and after the fact a large company can come along and trademark the name and force one give up legally aquired domain name under guise of cybersquatting.
Reply to this comment
I agree
by t8 March 15, 2005 4:40 PM PST
This cannot be fair. It means that your domain name is not safe, even if it were safe when you registered it. Again big business and money talks louder than justice.
View all 2 replies
not so fast
by muntz March 16, 2005 5:14 AM PST
I'd agree with you if the squatter in question was going to create
something new with the domain name. Such as some kind of
device that might work with a computer or a guitar for example.
But that isn't the case.

At the moment I'd like to buy a domain name for the company I
am starting, but someone has been sitting on it for the last 5
years in the hopes of making money off of someone like myself.
Is this fair?

bottom-line, the owner of the itunes.co.uk site obviously lost his
or her chance to bring to market something called iTunes. They
cannot do anything with that name and not appear to be up to
no good at this point.
Simple answer
by Thomas, David March 16, 2005 8:13 AM PST
If they REALLY wanted the name, and USE it for REAL, then they
would have trademarked the name.

It takes a LOT LONGER to trademark a name than register.

It's cyber squatting, plain and simple. Do they have ANY kind of
product called "iTunes"?
Registered before Apple's trademark was published...
by unknown unknown March 15, 2005 4:36 PM PST
When the site was registered Apple didn't have any legal claim to it. This is setting a bad precident in my opinion. One can register a domain name, and after the fact a large company can come along and trademark the name and force one give up legally aquired domain name under guise of cybersquatting.
Reply to this comment
I agree
by t8 March 15, 2005 4:40 PM PST
This cannot be fair. It means that your domain name is not safe, even if it were safe when you registered it. Again big business and money talks louder than justice.
View all 2 replies
not so fast
by muntz March 16, 2005 5:14 AM PST
I'd agree with you if the squatter in question was going to create
something new with the domain name. Such as some kind of
device that might work with a computer or a guitar for example.
But that isn't the case.

At the moment I'd like to buy a domain name for the company I
am starting, but someone has been sitting on it for the last 5
years in the hopes of making money off of someone like myself.
Is this fair?

bottom-line, the owner of the itunes.co.uk site obviously lost his
or her chance to bring to market something called iTunes. They
cannot do anything with that name and not appear to be up to
no good at this point.
Simple answer
by Thomas, David March 16, 2005 8:13 AM PST
If they REALLY wanted the name, and USE it for REAL, then they
would have trademarked the name.

It takes a LOT LONGER to trademark a name than register.

It's cyber squatting, plain and simple. Do they have ANY kind of
product called "iTunes"?
all too obvious
by mortis9 March 15, 2005 10:50 PM PST
this is trademark infringement, hands down. he obviously had a heads up about the copyright prior to publishing, and he was holding out for a better offer. i'm rather glad they make this illegal. it's a friggin redirect to his site that sells mp3 players.. funny....
Reply to this comment
apple really sucks
by March 16, 2005 6:15 AM PST
big companies will always extort the little guys - this is totally wrong and is totally unfair. Is apple to be the only company to sell music online? next they will sue microsoft for their music store... an then they will claim that they invented music itself.

just goes to prove the fact that apple sucks, and linux is the future, and theres no hope for apple since pretty soon everyone will be selling music online again - and hopefully directly once google figures it out.

register at www.boycott-apple.com and show your support for the little guys ou there.
View reply
all too obvious
by mortis9 March 15, 2005 10:50 PM PST
this is trademark infringement, hands down. he obviously had a heads up about the copyright prior to publishing, and he was holding out for a better offer. i'm rather glad they make this illegal. it's a friggin redirect to his site that sells mp3 players.. funny....
Reply to this comment
apple really sucks
by March 16, 2005 6:15 AM PST
big companies will always extort the little guys - this is totally wrong and is totally unfair. Is apple to be the only company to sell music online? next they will sue microsoft for their music store... an then they will claim that they invented music itself.

just goes to prove the fact that apple sucks, and linux is the future, and theres no hope for apple since pretty soon everyone will be selling music online again - and hopefully directly once google figures it out.

register at www.boycott-apple.com and show your support for the little guys ou there.
View reply
Takes longer to TradeMark than Register. THINK!
by Thomas, David March 16, 2005 8:23 AM PST
Take that into account, and go to the site.

Notice that they do not have a single product named iTunes.

For those of you "crying" about the little guy, either you are
totally lacking any brain cells to form a real thought, or you are
just pissed off that someone cracked down on cybersquatting. I
really don't get it.

Bottom-line, even if they never wanted to use that name for a
product, then they could have easily copyrighted it or
trademarked. Why didn't they? Was it because Apple had
already applied for it?

Think people, just think once in a little while.
Reply to this comment
Lateral
by April 5, 2005 11:09 AM PDT
I went to apple.com and I couldn't see any apples or iTunes for sale.

I went to davidthomas.com and blow me they didn't sell a single David Thomas.

I wonder how many eBays got sold last year?

It's funny how Apple Computers have left apple.co.uk alone isn't it? They don't seem to sell apples either, evil, dirty, cyber-squatters.

Irony is dead, it seems.
Takes longer to TradeMark than Register. THINK!
by Thomas, David March 16, 2005 8:23 AM PST
Take that into account, and go to the site.

Notice that they do not have a single product named iTunes.

For those of you "crying" about the little guy, either you are
totally lacking any brain cells to form a real thought, or you are
just pissed off that someone cracked down on cybersquatting. I
really don't get it.

Bottom-line, even if they never wanted to use that name for a
product, then they could have easily copyrighted it or
trademarked. Why didn't they? Was it because Apple had
already applied for it?

Think people, just think once in a little while.
Reply to this comment
Lateral
by April 5, 2005 11:09 AM PDT
I went to apple.com and I couldn't see any apples or iTunes for sale.

I went to davidthomas.com and blow me they didn't sell a single David Thomas.

I wonder how many eBays got sold last year?

It's funny how Apple Computers have left apple.co.uk alone isn't it? They don't seem to sell apples either, evil, dirty, cyber-squatters.

Irony is dead, it seems.
(36 Comments)
  • prev
  • 1
  • next
advertisement
Click Here

Latest tech news headlines

RSS Feeds

Add headlines from CNET News to your homepage or feedreader.

More feeds available in our RSS feed index.

advertisement