Comments on: Verizon awarded 'largest-ever' cybersquatting judgment
Federal court awards $33.15 million to Verizon in a case against a domain registrar that the company claims chooses names that are easily confused with legitimate Verizon sites.
Federal court awards $33.15 million to Verizon in a case against a domain registrar that the company claims chooses names that are easily confused with legitimate Verizon sites.
Web sites launch all the time, but they also shut their doors. We highlight 15 that bit the dust this year.
Let the debate begin: Was the iPhone more important than iTunes? Was anything bigger than Google finding a great business model? CNET offers its list of the 10 most important stories of the '00s.
The Web is now the place to go for news and entertainment. Look here for the latest on blogs, music, video, virtual worlds, social networking and more.
Add this feed to your online news reader
If you do something like Verizin.com (a misspelling of Verizon)
You can see it registered to a John Ver Izin and a P.O.Box.
And a contact email at registar.com also registered with enom.com's registrar.
My guess is that Verizon did their homework and was able to get this to point back to the company.
As to collecting the funds, good luck. At least now they can go to ICANN and get the domain names transferred to them.
The registered entries were done to host advertisement pages so that they can collect money everytime someone enters a typo when they wanted to go to the verizon web site.
Got plenty heated with her as well the last time.
Anyway, I don't like the idea of this. I believe in first come first serve. If you're not first then too bad so sad, but then people turn around and use deceptive practices and mislead people and then that doesn't work either. But I'm sure if some very smart people put their heads together we could find a better solution than lawsuits, but maybe I have too much faith in humans.
The top level domains are used to subdivide the DNS, and the limited registration of top level domains is primarily to help ICANN 'ensure universal resolvability so that all users of the Internet can find all valid addresses'.
If you just got to make any domain you wanted it'd be an absurd mess. We're not anywhere near running out of room in the current top level domains (yes .com is somewhat crowded), but there are quite a few other top level domains, like .name for instance.
As for your 'first come first served' concept... that's a horrible idea in the case of DNS, because a small startup company could take a few million dollars in capital and register hundreds of thousands of valid, and probably high demand domains. When a company that has a legitimate business reason to use that domain, and has established trademark and market for their brand, comes along... that domain being held for ransom is a very bad thing.
Who really would goto prefer going to something like www.cnet.info or www.timewarner.biz or www.delta.aero etc??? In addition to this, the most sought after domains get filled up during the sunrise period anyway. The sunrise period means trademark holders get first crack at names that are worth the most money and then everyone else gets to join later. Adding more TLDs IMHO is useless.
e.g.
http://www.ci.miami.fl.us/
http://www.ci.portland.or.us/
http://www.ci.oakland.ca.us/
http://www.ci.boston.ma.us/
http://www.ci.houston.tx.us/
http://www.ci.lasvega.nv.us/
All you had to know was the city name and it's matching state code and it would forward you to the proper site. Towns I believe were http://www.town.(the town name).(the 2-digit state code).us/ Now--- cities are breaking this with all sorts of vanity names that you have to know first and can't guess.
Registrant :
OnlineNIC,INC. xuehb@35.cn +86.5925391886
OnlineNIC,INC.
8th,Guanri Rd,Xiamen City,Fujian Province,China
xiamen fujian CN 361008
It is extremely unlikely that Verizon will ever see a dime in this judgment.
- by tacit December 26, 2008 9:28 PM PST
- Not surprising, all in all. OnlineNIC is well-known to spam fighters. They're a rogue registrar that's used by many pharmacy spammers, and OnlineNIC-registered domains often figure prominently in fake employment scams, porn spam, and the like.
- Like this Reply to this comment
-
(19 Comments)OnlineNIC has stepped in to fill the gap left when corrupt registrar EST Donains was forced out of business. EST Domains was a rogue registrar used by Russian organized crime to register domains for virus distribution, botnet control, and similar criminal activity. When they were finally shut down by ICANN, OnlineNIC aggressively pursued their former customers.
This also isn't their first problem with cybersquatting. They've been sued by Microsoft as well. One of the many shady ways OnlineNIC makes money is to register common typos themselves for various popular Web sites, then put up pay-per-view ad pages on those misspelled domains.
The California address for OnlineNIC is fake. It's an empty lot in an industrial area near a cement factory.