Google Profiles have become a bit more socially useful, with the search giant adding an option that lets people offer it as a way to get in touch without actually sharing their e-mail addresses.
To enable the option, click the "Edit profile" link, then check the "Allow people to contact me through my profile (without showing my email address)" option.
Enabling the option adds a "Send a message" link to your profile page, but not just anyone can send a message, though--only those with a Google account.
I sent myself a message; it had this note appended to the end: "This message was sent to you from your Google profile. The sender does not have your email address. If you no longer wish to receive messages from your Google profile, you may edit your settings at http://www.google.com/s2/profiles/me/editprofile."
Also, there are limits. "We've set some limits on how often messages can be sent and received, and you can disable the feature at any time by editing your profile and deselecting the checkbox," according to Google's explanation of the feature.
(Via Google Operating System.)