Facebook has removed an app called "Verify Your Account" that attempted to trick people by posing as an official Facebook message.
"This app has been disabled," a Facebook spokeswoman confirmed via email. "We take action against apps that violate our platform policies as laid out here: https://developers.facebook.com/policy/, in order to maintain a trustworthy experience for users."
A colleague got a notification from a friend that said "(Friend's name) sent you a request in Verify Your Account." When he clicked the link a window popped up purporting to … Read more