It took a few years and a reported $3.3 million, but Compaq today said the news
is official: it now owns the coveted domain name "www.altavista.com."
Under the agreement announced today and widely reported by the press
last month, AltaVista Technology Incorporated (ATI) will transfer the rights to its
trademark and domain names to Compaq, which operates the popular AltaVista search and portal site. Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed.
But the $3.3 million figure has been widely reported by media outlets as well as sources that asked not to be named.
Whether it is exactly right or in the ballpark, the figure demonstrates just how valuable names are on the Net. Having a name that people recognize and remember can mean the difference between success and failure.
And Compaq, which got the AltaVista search engine when it acquired Digital Equipment, is
working on beefing up the search engine in an effort to make it a hot
contender in the portal wars.
Some have speculated that Compaq is dressing up AltaVista for sale. But
whether or not Compaq keeps the site, it clearly sees the value in making
sure that it has its own name.
Jack Marshall, cofounder of ATI, had registered the name "altavista.com" in
1994.
In November 1995, Digital launched a search engine by the same name, designed to showcase
its technology. Digital posted the engine at "www.altavista.digital.com." But the search engine quickly became popular and users trying to find it simply looked for it at
"www.altavista.com," ending up at Marshall's site--where they can have their photos digitized and put online, but they can't search.
Marshall agreed that the issue was causing confusing and signed an agreement with Digital to sell the name. In turn, Digital would license limited use of the AltaVista name back to Marshall, who said he needed the name to run his company. ATI's Web pages all contained the URL "www.altavista.com" and without use of the name, the company would have folded, he said.
On Halloween 1996, Digital sued
Marshall's company, accusing it of breaching its licensing agreement and infringing on its trademark rights. Marshall's company had been redirecting Web surfers to Digital's search engine and Digital contended users were confused because Marshall did not specifically state that his site was not the search engine.
Today's announcement marks the official resolution of that suit.
Marshall now is focusing on the relaunch of his company under a different name: PhotoLoft.
Join the conversation
Comment replyThe posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Click here to review our Terms of Use.
MIT creates a simulation to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Spacewar. A relic of the early days of minicomputers, it was one of the first computer video games and set the stage for many others, including Asteroids.
Company requests ban on sales in the U.S. of the Samsung-made showcase for Google's heavily touted Ice Cream Sandwich version of the Android operating system, saying it violates four Apple patents.
AstrologyDating.com is a new site that tries to find you your perfect love on the basis of birth date, birth time, and birthplace. But will it tell you the truth? Well, it asks you to pay only per match. So I tried it.
The Web fulminates when it is revealed that executives from VEVO--vehement music industry antipirates--played a pirated stream of an NFL playoff game at a party. VEVO claims it left its Wi-Fi unsupervised. Have we heard that argument before?
Tor's "obfsproxy" technology would make encrypted data look innocuous and let it dodge government censors. That could help citizens in Iran reach blocked sites as antigovernment protests reportedly loom.
iPhones and Angry Birds aside, the arcade endures. Crave pays a visit--and offers up an homage to games and gamers of years past and a tribute to the possibly endangered, but not yet dead, atmosphere of the arcade itself.
Join the conversation