January 23, 1998 4:15 AM PST

Religion group in domain dispute

Related Stories

Court upholds ruling on Net jurisdiction

December 2, 1997

Attorneys weigh online jurisdiction

October 14, 1997

Blue Note Web suit loses appeal

September 11, 1997
The Jews For Jesus organization has filed a lawsuit against the owner of the Web site using the URL "jewsforjesus.org," charging him with unauthorized use of the group's trademark.

The suit, filed in U.S. District Court in New Jersey, is another example of the surge in domain-name disputes on the Net. Others have included the Blue Note jazz club, Esquire magazine, and the tradmark to Marilyn Monroe's name. Lawyers say these cases will increase as business on the Net booms.

In this case, the Web site of the defendant, Steve Brodsky, includes a link to the Outreach Judaism organization, which tries to bring people who have converted out of Judiasm back to the faith. Jews For Jesus alleges that Brodsky is "a self-proclaimed antagonist of Jews for Jesus."

In a statement, David Bricker, executive director of Jews for Jesus said: "We recognize that our effectiveness irks Mr. Brodsky as well as the entire counter-missionary community. But, they do not need to resort to illegal means to voice their displeasure. They have gone too far and now the courts will need to handle this."

Brodsky could not be reached for comment.

Jews for Jesus had threatened to file the suit last December.

Most lawyers agree there is not yet enough case law to predict how these cases will go. One reason: many of the cases involve distinct circumstances.

Last September, the Blue Note jazz club in New York lost its appeal against a Web site with a similar name in Missouri. The court upheld that the establishment of a Web site in one state, without engaging in activities such as Net commerce, does not expose the host to lawsuits filed in other states.

2 comments

Join the conversation!
Add your comment (Log in or register)
I am also having the same problem. The domain in question is jewsforjesus.info. I have received two threatening emails from this multimillion dollar corporation. You can view the first one on the first page of that URL.
Posted by BrenneMeirowitz (2 comments )
Reply Link Flag
I am also having the same problem. The domain in question is jewsforjesus.info. I have received two threatening emails from this multimillion dollar corporation. You can view the first one on the first page of that URL.
Posted by BrenneMeirowitz (2 comments )
Reply Link Flag
 

Join the conversation

Add your comment

The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Click here to review our Terms of Use.

Inside CNET News

1-2 of 12

Scroll Left Scroll Right

What's Hot

Discussions

Shared

RSS Feeds

Add headlines from CNET News to your homepage or feedreader.

Markets

Market news, charts, SEC filings, and more

Related quotes

Dow Jones Industrials (-0.69%) -89.23 12,801.23
S&P 500 (-0.69%) -9.31 1,342.64
NASDAQ (-0.80%) -23.35 2,903.88
CNET TECH (-0.58%) -11.91 2,032.01
  Symbol Lookup